Now for the pretty stuff…

Since the core of the wings are ready, we need to prep the slices of bubinga that will act as the face veneers and be the primary focus of the front and back of the bass.  The plan calls for a 1/4″ layer of bubinga both front and back.  I took the big hunk of bubinga that I bought and ripped it down into two 6″ pieces, marked up the good side to make sure I put that piece on the face of the bass and to let me keep the grain oriented.

I re-sawed the two pieces into 3/8″ thick pieces.

Then planed them down to 1/4″ final thickness.

Since this is the final prep stage for the top wing and I need to do a bit more work on the bottom wing, now is a great time to get out the clamps and add the bubinga to the core that we made earlier.

You can start to see what the final profile will look like with the bubinga, maple and walnut layers.

Leave a comment