Let’s make some wings!

With the rough build of the center section pretty much in hand, we need to start on the sandwich of wood for the wings.  The first step is the make the maple/walnut/maple configuration that will be the center of the wings.

I re-sawed some of the flame maple to create two pieces to bookend each slab of walnut in the middle of the wings.

According to the design, these two pieces will only be 1/16th of an inch thick.  My planer can’t handle wood that thin so I figured that I would build the block with thicker slices of maple and plane it all down to size in the next step. Once the walnut was planed down to    1 1/8″ thick glue was liberally applied

and clamps cranked it all together

You can see how thick the maple is at this stage.  We’ll take care of that later.

I’m sure glad I’ve got enough clamps to hold everything together!

Leave a comment